Does the FurHaven Calming Cuddler cover come off?
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. How we make money.
That is the question behind most "furhaven calming dog bed" searches, and the answer changes with size. The bed is the Calming Cuddler Long Faux Fur Donut: a round bed with raised sides, sold as Small, Medium, Large and Jumbo (23in, 30in, 36in, 45in). It is made for dogs that curl up and lean against a rim.
- It suits: small and medium anxious dogs, and curlers up to about 90 lb, whose owners want a refillable bed (the brand describes a zippered interior liner for adding fill) and one the brand calls completely machine washable.
- Skip it if: your dog is over 90 lb, chews bedding, or needs foam under joints. Retailers caution against it for destructive chewers, and a non-slip base is not published.
Pick your size on the Amazon page; listings can bundle several sizes.
FurHaven Calming Cuddler Long Faux Fur Donut Pet Bed
Small 23in (23" dia., up to 20 lb); Medium 30in (30" dia., up to 45 lb); Large 36in (36" dia., up to 75 lb); Jumbo 45in (45" dia., up to 90 lb)
Check sizes and price on AmazonCover, washing and refilling by size
This is where the sources are least consistent, so size matters more than usual.
- Small (23in): one piece, no removable cover per the brand page. You wash the whole bed.
- Medium, Large, Jumbo: the brand sells replacement covers separately, which suggests the cover comes off. A major US pet retailer does not say so outright.
- Whole bed: the brand page calls the bed completely machine washable and says the hang tag governs. A major US pet retailer repeats the claim.
- Refilling: the zippered interior liner lets you add fill when the bed goes flat. The fill type is not published.
- Drying: not published for this bed. FurHaven's general guide for other beds mentions low-heat tumble or line drying; we do not treat that as an instruction here.
Read the hang tag for the wash and dryer settings once the bed arrives. Our care guide covers keeping faux fur from matting.
Listing discrepancies we found
Where the brand page, several US retailers' listings and the brand's extra-cover listing disagree or leave a gap, we list both values side by side. All sources were read or extracted on 2026-10-15.
| Size and field | One source says | Another source says | What it means for you |
|---|---|---|---|
| 36in, cover removable | A major US pet retailer: completely machine washable with a zippered interior liner; removable cover not stated | FurHaven extra-cover listing (search extract): replacement covers sold for Medium (30in), Large and Jumbo | The 36in is machine washable per the retailer. Whether the outer cover unzips is not stated there; the extra-cover listing suggests covers do come off at larger sizes, so check your size. |
| 23in, cover removable | Another retailer's title (search extract): washable and removable cover and bolster | FurHaven product page (search extract): the small is one-piece, no removable cover | Do not buy the Small expecting to take the cover off. Wash the whole bed. |
Sources: furhaven.com product, extra-cover and washing pages, and several US retailers' listings; all accessed 2026-10-15. Some brand values reached us as search extracts, so confirm on the listing for your size.
75 lb or 90 lb: reading the weight ratings
Four ratings, four steps, and a ceiling at 90 lb. A heavy dog has fewer choices here than at brands that go past 100 lb. We did not record inner diameters: a size chart with them showed up in one search extract, but the page we read directly had no table.
| Size | Outer diameter | Sleeping surface | Overall height | Stated max weight |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Small | 23in | not published | not published | 20 lb (another retailer's listing) |
| Medium | 30in | not published | 10in (another retailer's listing for a sibling FurHaven donut; may not be identical) | 45 lb (another retailer, 30in round donut) |
| Large | 36in | not published | 10in (a major US pet retailer: 36 x 36 x 10) | 75 lb (a major US pet retailer: 75 lb or less) |
| Jumbo | 45in | not published | not published | 90 lb (another retailer) |
Say your dog weighs 75 lb. The Large is rated "75 lb or less" at a major US pet retailer, so you sit exactly on the limit and the Jumbo is the safer choice. The rating also says nothing about whether a dog fits curled or stretched out. Measure yours, and use the size guide to compare size names across brands.
Compared with Best Friends by Sheri, Bedsure and Bedfolks
Next to Best Friends by Sheri (five brand-listed sizes, 150 lb at 45in, a cleaning guide and a low-heat dryer instruction), FurHaven loses on range and wins on refill. Over 90 lb, the numbers rule it out. Under that, you are choosing between a refillable bed and a clearer dryer rule. Both sit in the donut camp from our donut vs orthopedic comparison.
Bedsure is the only brand of the five whose sources state a non-slip base, on both of its beds, and FurHaven has no such claim. Bedfolks has no brand-owned page in our sources, so its care details are largely missing. FurHaven documents more than Bedfolks and less than Bedsure on grip.
Pick your size on the Amazon page; listings can bundle several sizes.
| Bed | Top published limit | Top limit vs FurHaven | Removable cover | Fill | Amazon |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| FurHaven | 90 lb | this bed | Medium/Large/Jumbo: cover sold separately as replacement | not published | Check sizes and price on Amazon |
| Best Friends by Sheri | 150 lb | +60 lb | yes on 30in, 36in, 45in, 54in | AirLoft fiber: premium white poly fill | Check sizes and price on Amazon |
| Bedsure | 100 lb | +10 lb | XL only per a pet-product site | Premium ultra-soft filling | Check sizes and price on Amazon |
| Bedsure orthopedic | none published | no comparison (a limit is not published) | title says Washable | High-density egg-crate foam, CertiPUR-US | Check sizes and price on Amazon |
| Bedfolks | 100 lb | +10 lb | not published | Soft polypropylene filling | Check sizes and price on Amazon |
FurHaven has the lowest top rating among the donuts (90 lb) and is the only donut here that the brand explicitly describes as refillable. No source gives an inner diameter for any of the five, so check sleeping-surface room on the listing.
Who this bed is not for
- Dogs over 90 lb. The largest rating we found is 90 lb on the 45in.
- Chewers. Retailer copy cautions against destructive chewing, and the fill should not be swallowed.
- Dogs with sore joints. A fiber donut gives security, not support. The Bedsure Orthopedic section covers the foam option.
- Anyone who needs a non-slip base. Not published, so we cannot call it safe on bare floors.
- Buyers who want a removable cover on the smallest size. The 23in is one piece.
If your dog chews, read what the chew-proof and waterproof claims mean before buying any of the beds we cover. A covered, den-style alternative is discussed on our hooded bed page.
Sources and what we did not test
We read the FurHaven product and washing pages plus several US retailers' listings on 2026-10-15 and recorded each figure with its source. Exact source URLs are listed in our spec notes and available on request (contact us). No Amazon page was used for specs, and we quote no Amazon customer reviews.
The bed itself went untested: no dog slept on it, and we did not wash, refill or measure it, so there is no star rating. The 10in height comes from a sibling FurHaven donut at another retailer and may not match this bed, which the table says. Missing specs read "not published". Found a mistake? Tell us.
Frequently asked
Is the FurHaven Calming Cuddler machine washable?
The brand describes it as completely machine washable and says the hang tag governs. Dryer settings are not published, so check the tag.
Does the FurHaven calming bed have a removable cover?
The Small is one piece. For Medium, Large and Jumbo the brand sells replacement covers separately, but retailers do not all state the cover is removable, so confirm on your listing.
What is the weight limit?
The ratings we found are 20 lb (23in), 45 lb (30in), 75 lb (36in) and 90 lb (45in).